The township of Mornington (originally named Schnapper Point) was established in 1854. With inadequate roads to get to the small community, the decision to build the Mornington Pier was made in 1856, with two years for the build. Back in those days, the quickest route from Melbourne to Mornington was across the bay. The Mornington Pier originally cost about $17,000 (8761.25 English Pounds to be exact). Heritage information states that "three distinct zones were built: the inner rock abutment and wharf, the inner timber pier structure intersecting a ramp with a wider outer timber jetty". From 1858, the pier became the "social and economic heart of the Mornington Peninsula". Up to fifteen fishing boats with local owners had permanent moorings with other boats regularly transporting mail, fish, timber, firewood and supplies to Mornington. The ferries arrived in 1865, bringing visitors with them twice a week for their summer holidays. Around 1890 a northern arm was added to the Mornington Pier, forming a distinct L-shape, to accommodate the big steamers and paddle wheelers such as the Ozone, Hygeia and Weeroona.
(Source: Mornington Historical Society & Parks Victoria)